THE 2014 SANSUI SUMMER CUP WILL BE RUN AT TURFFONTEIN RACECOURSE ON SATURDAY 29 NOVEMBER. For more information, click here, or call 011-681-1702.

1-2-3-5 for Geoff Woodruff in the 2013 Sansui Summer Cup proudly hosted by Gauteng as Yorker (jockey Anton Marcus) beats Master Sabina and win the prize for owners Bernard Kantor, Markus and Ingrid Jooste and F E J Lewis. Woodruff-trained Tellina finished third with the stable's Killua Castle fifth. Royal Zulu Warrior, from the Kom Naidoo stable, was fourth.

The Summer Cup, sponsored by Sansui for the first time in 2009, is nearly as old as Johannesburg itself and has a rich and fascinating history.

It was first run in 1887, a year after the dusty mining camp that was to become Johannesburg sprang up on the farm Turffontein following the discovery of gold on the Witwatersrand.

No one could have envisaged then that the Summer Cup would become one of South Africa’s most famous racing events. In its heyday the Summer Cup was the highlight of the Johannesburg feature-race season and one of the city’s social events of the year.

In the 1970s changes to the name, conditions and date diminished the race’s glitter and it eventually became the Champion Stakes. In 1999 horseracing and tote betting company Phumelela reintroduced the Summer Cup to the racing calendar in its traditional format.

Many famous horses have won the race down the years and they include Pamphlet (1917), Lenin (1940), Cuff Link (1963), Caradoc (1966) and Home Guard (1970).

One horse who really grabbed the attention of the country was Java, trained by Jack Butler. He pulled off the remarkable feat of a Summer Cup hat-trick, starting in 1956 as a four-year-old before going on to claim the honours again the following two years.

The mighty Elevation was to repeat the exploits of Java almost 20 years later. Trained by the inimitable George Azzie, the chestnut landed his first victory in 1972, when the race was run as the Holiday Inns for the first time. Elevation went on to score again in 1973 before completing a fantastic hat trick under a big weight in 1974.

In more recent times Roland’s Song stands out with consecutive wins in 1990 and 1991 and few racing fans will forget the emphatic manner in which the brilliant Empress Club stamped her authority on the race in 1992.

Top trainer Mike de Kock has won the race a record nine times with six of those victories coming since the race’s reintroduction in 1999 – Delta Form (2000), Ingleside (2001), Wolf Whistle (2003), magnificent grey mare Ilha da Vitoria in 2005 and then Rudra who smashed the opposition in 2008. And De Kock nearly did it again in 2009, when his charge Meet At Malamala was a close third. Then in 2010 he saddled Flirtation to win the race. De Kock's first three winners were Evening Mist (1989 when the race was run as the Administrator's Champion Stakes), Record Edge (1997, the Skeaping Champion Stakes) and Golden Hoard in 1998 (Champion Stakes).









El Picha

Messrs Brian B Roux, TM Millard, A Swersky

GV Woodruff

R Hill


Delta Form

Mr & Mrs MA Airey, Messrs WI Geary, OV Leibrandt, RJ Simpson, BB Sinclair

MF de Kock

G Figueroa



Mr B Kantor

MF de Kock

K Shea



Mr & Mrs L Jaffee

GV Woodruff

P Strydom


Wolf Whistle

Mrs PM Sargent, MP Egan, HR Enderle, WW Fenner, PK Harris

MF de Kock

K Shea



Messrs MK Naidoo & R Pancham

ST Pettigrew

P Strydom


Ilha Da Vitoria (BRZ)

Mrs M Slack

MF de Kock

W Marwing



Messrs MC Gerber, J Gerber, GL Blank, DI Catterall, MA Currie, GC Chamberlain & PG Joubert

A G Laird

B Smith


Strategic News

Messrs CG Snyman, JJ Snyman, L Steyn, MG Gramenie, DL Cunha, & LL Cunha

D Cunha

G Schofield



Messrs Tony Moodley, P Bayvel, M F de Kock, M C Gerber and F Ladeira

MF de Kock

K Shea

2009 Aslan Brooklyn Bullet Trust (Nom: Mr A J Joseph) and Mrs L M Leisher S Tarry F Coetzee
2010 Flirtation Mr C and Mrs B A Livanos MF de Kock R Simons
2011 Dancewiththedevil Mr St John Gray SJ Gray G Lerena
2012 Wagner Mrs I Jooste & Mr M J Jooste J Soma S Khumalo
2013 Yorker Messrs B Kantor, M J Jooste and F E J Lewis and Mrs I Jooste GV Woodruff A Marcus

   Latest Photos


leather carpet

android oyunlarI