Directors / Executive

The Phumelela Board has a unitary Board structure. In accordance with the recommendations of the Code of Corporate Practices and Conduct, the majority of the members of the Phumelela Board, including the Chairman, are non-executive directors. To ensure a balance of power and authority, there is a clear division of responsibilities among the company's Directors. One third of the directors retire annually by rotation. The roles of Chairman and Chief Executive are separate and the Chairman has no executive responsibilities.

Non-executive directors: 

  • Mangalani Peter Malungani (Chairman) BCom (Unisa), MAP (Wits), LDP (Wharton) Independent
  • Rob Cooper CA (SA) Independent
  • Bernard Kantor CTA (Wits)
  • Siza Khang Cecil Khampepe BA, MBA Independent
  • Nolwandle Jacqueline Mboweni BA Ed, MAP Independent
  • Dr Elias Nkosi MB ChB, MAP, MBA Independent
  • Chris van Niekerk
  • John Barry Walters Independent
    Photios Anastassopoulos

Phumelela executive directors:

  • Andreas Heide (Chief Operating Officer & Group Finance Director) BCompt Hons, CTA (SA)
    John Stuart (International Executive Director) BComm
    Vee Moodley (Executive Director, Sports Betting) BComm


  • Dean Finder (Chief Operating Officer, Betting World)
  • Rob Scott (Chief Executive Officer, Tellytrack; Executive, Sales & Marketing)
  • Freda Moloi (Company Secretary)
  • Ike Shirindi (General Manager, Human Resources)
  • Mervyn Govender (Group Chief Information Officer)
  • Barry McLoughlin (Chief Financial Officer)
  • Clyde Basel (Executive Director, Racing)

Executive Management


Andreas served articles with PricewaterhouseCoopers in Johannesburg and qualified as a chartered accountant in 1996. Over the past 19 years he has held various senior financial positions within the horseracing industry and played key roles in the corporatisation and listing of Phumelela on the JSE in 2002. Andreas was appointed Group Finance Director in September 2009 and as Chief Operating Officer in 2010.

John served his articles with KPMG before joining TAB KwaZulu-Natal in 1979 as Internal Auditor, and occupied various positions there before leaving in 1996 as Assistant General Manager. He then joined TAB Transvaal (transferred to Phumelela as part of the corporatisation process) in 1997 and served in various positions before heading up the international division in 2006. John also heads up the Tellytrack operation on behalf of the Tellytrack partnership.

John is a Non-Executive Director of Automatic Systems Limited, one of the two totalisator operators in Mauritius, International Executive Director of Phumelela and was appointed Executive Director of Premier Gateway International in 2011.

Vee studied for a BComm Accounting degree at the University of Natal and worked as Group Accountant for the PMC Group of companies in KwaZulu-Natal.

In 2003 Vee opted for a career path change and joined the National Horseracing Authority as Handicapper.

His thorough knowledge and understanding of horseracing stood him in good stead and in 2007 he was promoted to Racing Control Manager and Chief Executive Officer designate of the National Horseracing Authority.

Vee has a strong financial background and excellent knowledge of horseracing and betting and was appointed by Phumelela as Executive Director: Sports Betting on 1 October 2010. Vee was also appointed CEO of Betting World, a subsidiary of Phumelela, on 1 June 2015.

Clyde Basel, one of South Africa’s leading horse racing commentators for many years, took over the running of the RA head office in August 2007.

His energy and enthusiasm for the job made an immediate impression on racing communities in the Phumelela-administered regions.Among the many initiatives that he drove at the RA were major improvements to the race day experience at Turffontein racecourse – in collaboration with Phumelela. 

He also greatly enhanced communication channels with RA members and was a key motivator behind many RA initiatives.